

Categories (please check only one per form)

Annual Community Awards Nominating Ballot

The Silverton Area Chamber of Commerce is pleased to host the *54th Annual First Citizen Banquet* in 2025. We are returning to the Mt. Angel Festhalle for our event on Saturday, Jan. 25th. The event is a time to recognize citizens and businesses for their efforts in improving our community in 2024. Nomination forms must be completed and returned to the Chamber office no later than Friday, December 20th. The criteria for awards are explained on the other side of this form. Past winners are attached. Nominate someone today!

☐ First Citizen ☐ Distinguished Service ☐ Business of the Year	☐ Judy Schmidt Lifetime Achievement Award☐ Club or Service Group of the Year
Name of Nominee	
Nominee Address —	
Occupation	
Nominated By	Contact Phone
Yes, I am interested in making the present No, I am not interested in making the present No.	•

On a separate page, identify and describe how the nominee is distinguished in the following areas:

- 1. Community Service: Contributions of time, labor, talent and other resources freely given to the community.
- 2. Dedication and Commitment: Extraordinary involvement in serving others.
- 3. Leadership: Examples of influence that might encourage service from others.

Document your nomination with as much information as possible. Attached testimonial letters, commendations, newspaper clippings, and similar items are helpful in the selection process. The selection committee, made up of former winners, business and community leaders, will base their decisions on the information you provide.

Nomination/Selection Criteria

First Citizen

Awarded annually to a local individual (or individuals) for making a *broad* and substantial impact on our community.

Distinguished Service

Awarded annually to a local individual (or individuals) for making an impact on our community in a *specific* area.

Business of the Year

Awarded annually to a business, either retail or service oriented, for outstanding service to the community.

Judy Schmidt Lifetime Achievement Award

Awarded annually to a local individual (or individuals) for sustained commitment to service in the community over an extended period of time.

Future First Citizen – Typically Nominated by School Advisors

Age limit of 16-20 years old. Awarded annually to a local individual for peer leadership, community service, and participation in school clubs or organizations. Includes the Jack Berger Memorial Scholarship of \$300.

Club or Service Group of the Year -

A group that has provided exceptional service to the community over the last year or years.

Return this ballot by December 20, 2024 to: Silverton Area Chamber of Commerce P.O. Box 257 Silverton, OR 97381 Or drop by in person to 426 S. Water Street in Silverton

First Citizen **Business of the Year (continued) Judy Schmidt Lifetime Achievement** 1971 Lorna Steinberger 2010 Pomegranate (Continued) 1972 Bob Marcum 2011 Michael Kim, DDS 2004 Joe Davis 1973 Willard Hayne 2012 Holland Collision Service 2005 Don Dolan 1974 Bob Borland 1975 Carl & Irene Hande 2013 Seven Brides Brewing 2006 The Goschie Family 1976 Gordon Henjum 2014 Our Town/Mt. Angel Publishing 2007 Norma Jean Branstetter 1977 Joe Davis 2015 The Oregon Garden 2008 Dora Palmquist 1978 John Sims 2016 Harcourts NW Oregon Realty 1979 John Middlemiss 2009 Steve Potter 1980 Gladys Clark 2010 Antonia & Doug Jenkins 2017 Les Schwab 1981 Paul Almquist 2018 Bledsoe-Santana Team Realty 2011 Wes Oster 1982 Dr. Wayne Grodrian 1983 Craig Člark 2019 The Pill Box 2012 Verlene Beard 1984 Dave & Joyce Larson 1985 Harry Vetter 2013 Rick Lewis 2020 The Satern Agency Country Financial 2021 Silver Falls Brewery 2014 Jim Brueckner 1986 Vernice Cole 1987 Dottie Souza 2022 The Lucky Leaf 2015 Gayle Goschie 1988 Raymond Kaser 2023 Willamette Valley Bank 2016 Mason Branstetter 1989 Olaf Paulson 2017 Bob Holowati 1990 Glada Greenfield 2018 Elmer Valkenaar **Distinguished Service** 1991 Nick Robinson 1980 Wyoma Jean Shoupp 2019 Bill and Sylvia Long 1992 Stu Rasmussen 1993 Herman Goschie 1981 Glada Greenfield 2020 Chuck White 1994 Bill Hanson 1982 Jeff Brekas 2021 Otto Stadeli 1995 Dr. Virgil Pettit 1996 Chuck White 1983 Christine Schwab 2022 Arlene Harris 1997 Orville Roth 1984 Don Lowe 2023 Debbie & Don Bennett/The Home 1998 Loretta Opsahl 1985 Steve & Joni Goodwin Place Restaurant 1999 Vince & Babs Till 1986 Sandy Sanford 2000 Mike Overfield 2001 Robert Edgerton 1987 LaVonne & John Haynie **Junior First Citizen** 2002 Judy Schmidt 1988 Clarence Taylor 1976 Bill Gragg 2003 Ken Hector 2004 Dr. Wayne Feller 1989 Scott Hess 1977 Dona Pfeifer 2005 Darby Hector 2006 Ann Altman 1990 Keenan & Jan Foraker 1978 Kathy Lamoreaux 1991 Mildred Thayer 1979 Nick Robinson 2007 Jerry Steffen 2008 Don Kelley 2009 Denny & Genie Stoll 2010 Terry Thomas 1992 Harriet Day 1980 Bob Evans 1981 Bob & Linda Nuttman 1993 Richard Nelson 1994 Tonner Hays 1984 Dian Forster 2011 Beth Davisson 2012 Dixon Bledsoe 2013 Kyle Palmer 1995 Judy Schmidt 1985 Curt Almquist 1996 Patty & Dave Dunmire 1986 Dwaine Wisthoff 1997 Tammi Cline Phillip DeBartolo 2014 Jane Jones 1987 Gus Frederick 2015 Gus Fredrick 1998 Betty & Al Hollin 1998 Cory Cline 2016 Cindy Jones 1999 Jean Corrigan 2017 Andý Bellando 2000 Betty Lou & Harold Wellman **Future First Citizen** 2018 Kevin and Stacy Palmer 2001 Elmer Valkenaar 2019 Becky Ludden 2000 Terry Manning II and Katie Niemeyer 2020 Glen Damewood 2001 Emily Yarbrough 2002 Ruth Cock 2021 Hillary Dumatrescu 2003 Evelyn Hynes 2002 Kirsten Funrue 2022 Dana Smith 2023 Laura Wanker 2004 Community Outreach Clinic 2003 Caitlin Sander 2005 Frank & Bernadette Mele 2004 Ashley Lively Retailer of the Year 2005 Kelsey Hupp 2006 Janette Olafson 1987 Orville Roth 2007 Doreen Kelly 2006 Marie-Therese Senecal 1988 Jean Wahlster 2008 Laura Wanker/Helen Thomas 2007 Elvi Cuellar 1989 Ernie Hento 2009 Craig Roessler 2008 Brianna Bledsoe 1990 Cascade Farm Machinery 2010 Bill Cummins 2009 Hallie Day 1991 Betty Twede 2011 Wed. Community Dinners 2010 J'Nyssa Baker **Business of the Year** 2011 Julian Canda 1992 Blazer Industries 2012 Richard Carlson 1993 Redman Homes 2013 Kevin Griffin 2012 Ross Martinson 1994 Pfeifer Construction 2013 Macy Mulholland 2014 Marta Hazekamp 1995 Silverton Hospital 2014 Valeria Vazquez-Trejo 2015 Brad Brenden 1996 Cooley's Gardens 2015 Kate Brazelton 2016 Norm English 1997 Silverton Realty 2016 Megan Mannion 2017 Sue Roessler 1998 Leather & Lace 2017 Joseph Schmitz 1999 Silver Creek Deli 2018 Sarah White 2018 Alyssa Khieu 2000 Roth's Family Market 2019 Erica Rumpca and Mindy Duerst 2001 Silver Falls Bank 2019 Zahra DeShaw 2020 Sarah DeSantis 2002 Silver Creek Animal 2020 Charles Petrik 2021 Josh & Paige Echo-Hawk 2021 Grace Hernandez 2022 Meg Feicht 2003 Silver Creek Gallery 2022 Hannah Bashor 2023 John Friedrick 2004 Silverton Ballet/ 2023 Claire Kuenzi Performing Arts Co 2005 Silver Grille **Judy Schmidt Lifetime Achievement** 2006 Wooden Nickel/Mac's 1999 Dr. Olwyn Davies **Outstanding Club or Service Group** 2007 Stone Buddah/Purl 2020 We All Dine in Silverton

2000 Fred and Nola Parkinson

2001 Quentin and Lois Estell

2002 Roth's Family Market

2003 Carolyn Berg

2021 Skate Park Phase II

2022 Legacy Health Auxiliary

2023 The Silverton Sidewalk Shindig

District

2008 Fall Line - Jason Franz

2009 Silverton Fitness